Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RSA - Invalid Key / CAN controller not available error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    87

    Default RSA - Invalid Key / CAN controller not available error

    Getting the following pop-ups whenever I try to use Maintenance Tool (release V03.03.06.347696.350) to connect to a Cr2532. I uninstalled & re-installed Maintenance Tool without any luck. No issues connecting to the Cr2532 with CoDeSys. I?m running Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1.

    Any advice on how to resolve would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RSA Invalid Key.JPG 
Views:	122 
Size:	49.0 KB 
ID:	369

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    295

    Default

    That's odd. Can you connect to any other device? Does the CAN Utility work?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Same thing happens in CAN utility & with other Basic devices. I think something just got hosed with my computer, but re-installing Maintenance Tool isn't resolving the issue.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    295

    Default

    Do you have a Peak or Ixxat device? If so does it do it with that?

    Maybe you got a different version of the CANfox MT API installed. It should be version 7.4.44.0. You could try uninstalling anything related to Seica or Sontheim then reinstall the Maintenance Tool.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2018-03-22_131846.jpg 
Views:	100 
Size:	103.0 KB 
ID:	370

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    87

    Default

    I was originally using a PEAK. Tried the CANfox & it works fine. I am running version 7.4.44.0 of the CANfox MT API. Is it still worth uninstalling/reinstalling the Seica or Sontheim stuff for the PEAK?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    295

    Default

    You can’t use the CAN Utility with PEAK. You should be able to download though.

    I wouldn’t bother with reinstalling the Sieca and Sontheim items.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    87

    Default

    I uninstalled the Sieca and Sontheim items & reinstalled Maintenance Tool before reading your response & it ended up fixing my issue. I can now use the PEAK adapter again to connect with Maintenance Tool. Thanks for the help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    295

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cvrettacos View Post
    I uninstalled the Sieca and Sontheim items & reinstalled Maintenance Tool before reading your response & it ended up fixing my issue. I can now use the PEAK adapter again to connect with Maintenance Tool. Thanks for the help.
    Thanks for the update.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •